Addictions Acquired in 2005

January 1, 2006 at 2:31 pm 7 comments

On this auspicious day, when wordpress 2.0 is being released, I start my brand new blog (in a hope that it would be as popular as Scobleizer. Another wonderful year comes to an end. So everyone starts making their “Favourites” list. So here is mine, a “me-too” list of websites I have liked and use

Some of the fantabulous sites I discovered are flickr and del.icio.us (pronounced delicious) – both have been bought by my savvy employer :-). Both, as I have discovered, are very very addictive. I was also amazed to see some old articles that I liked gaining prominence because of social bookmarking phenomenon. In this space you can try simpy and blinklist, shadows , clipmarks (the last one needs a download). Another interesting application, which falls in to category of mash-up is diggdotus. In peer news category, you can try gabbr and . I like reddit better than others. I recently came across stumble upon this of course need a plug-in for your browser.

And just when wikipedia became a leading site for reference, it became mired in controversy thanks ot a practical joke about kennedy’s assassination.

Among these new crop of sites, my personal favourite is 180n a news aggregator with numerous categories. I also liked upcoming and RSS based events manager (again another takeover by Yahoo! πŸ™‚ ), but I cannot use it well as the most events listed on upcoming are US-centric.

In travel segment, a twiki travel experience site will fly high if it attracts more users. Also in the segment is travelbuddy where you can write your own travelogue (and ofcourse make friends across the world. Travelbuddy really reminded me of my personal favourite mouthshut which offers a facility to publish product reviews on movies, restaurants, gadgets etc. and create a trusted circle of friends.

As a web 2.0 start page, you can configure netvibes as your home page. Don’t be surprised if it looks amazingly similar to personalized google . For RSS readers, I highly recommend Bloglines , my.yahoo (my personal homepage, for a number of years now) or Google Reader . It is apt to talk of blog related sites here πŸ™‚ so here we go………… 1) Technorati and 2) Memeorandum Its other section also tracks popular political blogs.

An off-beat example of web 2.0 is 43things. This site simply lets you publish 43 things that you would like to achieve. It also send you reminders if you are serious about quitting smoking (any takes there? πŸ™‚ ) . The last but not the least Yahoo! answers – an absolute must for nerds.

Well I already like WordPress for its user-friendly features (which is another befitting example of web 2.0application.

After all this, if you still want to know what web 2.0″ really is, here is Tom O’rielly’s article explaining the same.

I am yet to try a lot of “web 2.0” websites, so would let you know my experiences. Once in a while I also write reviews on movies, restaurants that I have liked. So keep reading, because I am going to be back with more πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Weird Ways of Pune Police

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deeizak  |  January 3, 2006 at 3:26 am

    That’s a pretty cool post! ~Dawn Isaac

  • 2. Anjay  |  January 3, 2006 at 7:46 am

    This is cool. I will keep a tab on it to see what comes next.

  • 3. Ruchik Bhatt  |  January 3, 2006 at 9:01 am

    Interesting set of addictions…its getting contagious

  • 4. Rishi Lal  |  January 3, 2006 at 10:33 am

    Nice one. Keep it up.

  • 5. Mayuresh Kadu  |  January 3, 2006 at 1:14 pm

    Suhas,

    Web 2.0 has become quite a paradigm this (and now the) last year. I did post a bit about it (http://mytechieself.blogspot.com/2005/12/article-what-is-web-20.html). You may also want to add digg.com and http://diggdot.us/ to it. They are the slashdot of (atleast) tommorow and digg.com uses Ajax as well.

    Keep up the posting though. Hope to see more posts from you.

    – Mayuresh

  • 6. Rajesh Agnihotri  |  January 5, 2006 at 4:54 am

    Very intresting…Tips for being addicted….waiting for further reviews……..

  • 7. Aidan  |  January 11, 2006 at 6:08 am

    A good summary there Suhas. The biggest problem I have with ‘2.0’ style community tools and networks like this is the free time it takes up!

    Like many people I am a big Flickr fan and never have the time to organise my own pictures properly as it’s so easy to get distracted by all the other images out there! For this reason I haven’t started my own blog, maybe I’m too busy posting on everyone elses…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2006
S M T W T F S
    Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


